REALTIME FLOWS    U. Kern: n/a cfs    L. Kern: 1341 cfs    E.W: 312 cfs    U. Owens: 108 cfs    L. Owens: 496 cfs   09/02/19 1:15 PM PST

New to the area and fly fishing

For topics that don't seem to have a home elsewhere.

New to the area and fly fishing

Postby Sjwhitley11 » February 10th, 2016, 12:42 pm

Hi my name is Sean and I am new to California fishing I am a Marine stationed on camp pendelton and we deploy in April, I used to fly fish when I was younger but was handed the set up pre tied and ready to roll. Just got a brand new echo rod and real #5. Needless to say I am trying to get back into it. I am however an avid waterfowler and outdoorsman, I am originally from central Missouri so fishing in general is alittle different. I am taking a trip up by Bishop to give a try at some rainbows and browns and any helpful hints or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Sjwhitley11

Re: New to the area and fly fishing

Postby clee » February 10th, 2016, 1:45 pm

If you plan on fishing the lower (or what is now called the middle) bring small flies 18 and under of various colors. Make sure you're fishing enough weight that flies are the bottom. You might get a hatch around noon or so, so bring some BWO dries size 18.

Good luck Devil Dog.
clee

Postby Bstallings » February 10th, 2016, 3:58 pm

Fished the middle section 1/29 & 30th. Snowed out the 31st. Small, 18-24, black flies fished along the bottom worked best. Tight line techniques worked for me but others used an indicator. Fish were rising during the day for emergers just below or in the surface film.
A word of caution, Fish & Wildlife were working the area hard checking license & barbs. Make sure you pinch the barbs down well. One buddy was cited for a barb not pinched down properly. Warden said he could confiscate his rod & reel but didn't.

Have fun up there!

CUFSHN

BILL
Bstallings

Postby WanderingBlues » February 10th, 2016, 4:42 pm